Top Menu

City of Saratoga

Incorporated in October 1956, as a general law city, Saratoga now operates under a council/manager form of government with an elected five-member, non-partisan council which functions as the policy-making governmental body.

Go to City of Saratoga Web Site

City Council
The council members, elected every two years, serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor and Vice Mayor are elected by the City Council each year. Members of the City Council appoint the City Manager, City Attorney, and all volunteer commissioners. Meetings are held on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

City Departments
City services are managed by five departments – Administrative Services, City Manager’s Office, Community Development, Public Works and Recreation. To contact the city offices, call (408) 868-1200.

Police/Fire/Other Services
Police services are provided on a contract basis by the Santa Clara County Sheriff’s Department. Fire protection is provided by two fire districts, both independent of the city – Saratoga Fire District, governed by an elected three-person board of commissioners, and Santa Clara County Fire Department, governed by the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors.

Saratoga Fire District
Joe Parker, Battalion Chief
14380 Saratoga Ave
Saratoga, CA 95070
(408) 867-9001, Emergency 911

Santa Clara County Fire Department
Benjamin F. Lopes III, Chief
(408) 378-4010, Emergency 911

Sheriff’s Office, West Valley Division
Captain Rich Urena
1601 S. De Anza Blvd
Cupertino, CA 95014
(408) 868-6600, Emergency 911

Emergency 911

County Communications
(after hours) (408) 299-2507

San Jose Water Company
(408) 279-7900
Emergency (408) 279-7900 (Press 0)

West Valley Sanitation District
(408) 378-2407
Emergency (after hours) (408) 299-2507

Santa Clara Valley Water District
(408) 265-2600
Emergency (after hours) (408) 299-2507

Green Valley Disposal
(408) 354-2100

Comcast (Cable)
(800) 945-2288

SBC (Telephone)
(800) 310-2355

Pacific Gas & Electric
(800) 743-5000